Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
"The Book of V," with Author Anna Solomon
Join the Women of WHC for a discussion with best-selling author Anna Solomon.

For fans of "The Hours" and "Fates and Furies," a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day.

Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’s grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016.

Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others.

Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all.

In Anna Solomon’s "The Book of V.," these three characters’ riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women’s lives have and have not changed over thousands of years.

Anna Solomon is the author of "Leaving Lucy Pear" and "The Little Bride" and a two-time winner of the Pushcart Prize. Her short fiction and essays have appeared in publications including "The New York Times Magazine," "One Story," "Ploughshares," "Slate," and more. Coeditor with Eleanor Henderson of "Labor Day: True Birth Stories by Today’s Best Women Writers," Solomon was born and raised in Gloucester, Massachusetts, and lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two children.

Presented in partnership with the Jewish Book Council.

To purchase a copy of the book, please visit https://amzn.to/2LpA6rh

Feb 2, 2021 12:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Loading
* Required information